Calm Before The Storm

Oscars behind the scenes day one, and a little of LA

I’m in Los Angeles! I’m a little jet lagged, so this post will be short tonight. It’s only a 3 hour difference, but I am beat!

I did a live video on Instagram live as I walked around the area where the Red Carpet will be, and where all the Hollywood Stars are. It’s a lively, slightly seedy area. Link is here.

On this first day on the Oscar site, there was not much to see as yet except a lot of generic construction and security —really nice people. In fact, ever since I started doing this 8 years ago, I’ve been so impressed with how nice all the Academy staff are. It makes it even more enjoyable. Here are some of my first drawings from today.

This is where we go to get our credentials. Easy peasy and not a lot of media here yet.

And here is an escalator I have probably been up and down a hundred times, along with two security folks who keep guard on the area where all the media will be during the broadcast. No one without a badge allowed in. During the broadcast, they even have metal detectors.

We are still several days away from the event, so things are pretty calm. It gets very nutty as we get closer, in a controlled sort of way.

After doing these drawings, I walked to a restaurant to meet a college buddy for dinner, and during my walk I passed by a legendary LA In-N-Out Burger. Someday I’ll try their veggie burger!

Tommorrow is the Red Carpet Roll Out!

Seeing Things is a reader-supported publication. To receive new posts and support my work, consider becoming a free or paid subscriber.

0 Comments
Seeing Things
Seeing Things
Authors
Liza Donnelly