4

Colorful Woman

Subway standout
4

I was taking the subway downtown and planned on drawing someone—it was going to be a long ride. But soon, it got too crowded and I am reluctant to draw with tons of people around me, for some reason.

We pulled into the Canal Street station and by then the train car had thinned out. I looked around and the assembled cast of characters in my car, but no one compelled me to draw. That usually doesn’t stop me, to be honest, because anyone is interesting to draw. I guess I was tired.

But then this woman got on and I had to draw her. I did it in one stop, and got off at Chambers Street.

She was an interesting looking person, and her dress was eye catching. I think it was her basic demeanor that compelled me! And the fact that with that dress, she was sporting Birkenstocks with black socks.

The video grab of the drawing being created is above at the top of this post.

Happy Thursday!

Seeing Things is a reader-supported publication. To receive new posts and support my work, consider becoming a free or paid subscriber.

4 Comments
Seeing Things
Seeing Things
Authors
Liza Donnelly