Playback speed
undefinedx
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
4

Drawing The Brave Ukrainian People

4

When Putin invaded Ukraine a few days ago, a bold, agressive, senseless, unprovoked, lie-filled act, I knew I had to draw something. But what? Just an angry drawing about the egomaniacal, narcisistic leader of Russia? No. So I waited, thinking and reading. I still did not come up with any “idea,” per se, as one might in an editorial cartoon. I didn’t really want to. What I did just moments ago was a drawing to show my respect and admiration for the Ukrainian people who are fighting for their country. Literally, many civilians are doing just that: making molotov cocktails and registering to be given firearms. It will be frightening and I am so worried. But I am glad our leader is Joe Biden and not someone else who shall go nameless (because I don’t want to say his name).

My live drawing of the brave people in Ukraine. Video capture is at top of page.

My live drawing, wherein I draw and talk to viewers as I complete a drawing, is on Instagram, and here is the link. During the pandemic, I did this every day, talking and drawing about an issue in the news or culture that we were all concerned about. Today marks my return to this on a regular basis, and I think it has to do with the global attention on Ukraine. We need to talk about it together. And I will draw as we do. Of course I will hit on other subjects, not always serious. Follow me on Instagram to get notifications when I go live. You can also see the archive of what I have live drawn in my account on IG. My account is here.

My heart goes out to the brave Ukrainian people.

4 Comments
Seeing Things
Seeing Things
Authors
Liza Donnelly