15

A Visual Feeling

15
The finished drawing. Sped up video of it being drawn is above.

I boarded the subway yesterday with the intention of live drawing someone. Almost immediately, I realized it was too crowded. It’s possible to draw on a crowded subway car, and I’ve done it before (see below), but I wasn’t in the mood. It’s hard to see a complete individual when sitting there surrounded by bodies, and hard to avoid being watched.

But at about West 181st, people started leaving. I saw a woman leaning over watching something with her son (it looked like her son) on her phone. Her body posture intrigued me. The sharing between them moved me. So I quickly started drawing. The guy to my right, sitting at my elbow, appeared not to notice what I was doing. If he did, he said nothing, which is my preference (New York can be like that, people mind their own business).

Thank you for reading Seeing Things. This post is public so feel free to share it.

Share

I had four stops to get it done. I rushed, finished with my signature when I got off the train. But you know, it’s often just about the gesture. I don’t do these necessarily for any kind of “likeness,” but rather I am looking to represent my impression of what I was seeing. A feeling. A visual response snapshot, sometimes of color and shape and line.

An follower of mine kindly said of the drawing above, “you capture life without stealing it.” I love that. When I was in college, while I was always drawing cartoons, I also used to draw realistically—landscapes, animals from photos, trying to capture the “life” of what I saw. Then early in my young adulthood, I painted abstracts.

These subway sketches for me are a combination of those approaches. Maybe I should do a series of paintings based on these live drawings.

Drawing from a crowded subway
Drawing on a crowded subway

I really appreciate you being here, thank you. If you would like to help support what I do, consider becoming a subscriber, either free or paid.

15 Comments
Seeing Things
Seeing Things
Authors
Liza Donnelly