Playback speed
undefinedx
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
4

Creativity Connects

4

I just left Florida, where I spoke to benefactors of the Ringling College of Art and Design, a very impressive college. Among many great things, the college is number one in teaching animation. I really wish I had the time to learn more animation (I’ve done some)—perhaps its just a matter of making it happen!

Being near the water and seeing a new part of the country is a joy. I don’t have much experience with Florida, just from the news. I’ve have formulated certain opinions about the state—not fair, I know. But while I was there, the news alerted us that Trump took boxes of presidential material down to Mara Lago, illegally. Some say it may have been unintential, but I doubt it. And then there is the whacky governor. Remember hanging chads?

I spent some time walking by the water; I love the water. The smell and feel of a southern coast like this reminds me of the Chesapeake Bay, near where I grew up. My father loved the Chesapeake Bay; as I kid I didn’t think much of it. He used to enjoy driving down to Florida for the birding, and while I am more of a Maine coast person, I totally get why he loved parts of the wildlife of Florida. While I was here, it was grey and overcast, but beautiful still.

Men were out on the piers fishing. I live-drew this man below, and the video above is of the drawing emerging as I drew it.

I also couldn’t resist drawing these birds, many sat near the fishermen.

I used to draw animals a lot when I was younger, I loved drawing birds. And in fact got college credit for drawing birds in my ornithology class. The two birds are, I think, a snowy egret and a cattle egret….but someone can correct me, please!

Returning to NY with a feeling of hopefulness. My speech in Florida was about how creativity is about connecting with one another. When I used to draw birds in college, I tried to connect with the soul of the bird, and found that the eyes were where I could feel it. Call me idealistic, but I still try to do that with the people I draw (although I don’t focus as much on the eyes like I used to on birds). When I draw someone, I form a bond of some sort, if only for a few minutes as I am creating the drawing. They may not know it, which is fine by me; but if they do, and we speak, I have noticed that there is a connection.

My new book is about to come out! Very Funny Ladies: The New Yorker’s Women Cartoonists.You can pre-order anywhere, or pre-order a personalized, signed one, here.

4 Comments
Seeing Things
Seeing Things
Authors
Liza Donnelly