Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
Transcript
12

Time To Draw

A semi-regular videocast
12

People tell me they like to watch me draw. During the pandemic, I drew on Instagram live every day at 5pm, and it seemed to fill a need for me and for viewers. Something to do with connection. I ended it in 2021 because, well, it didn’t seem to have a purpose after the pandemic and the elections were over in 2020. But I question whether this type of video can have a place in my the rotation of things I do on my Substack. Maybe I’ll more formally call it a video podcast, a regular feature of just drawing and talking about life and politics.

As I draw live here in this session, I talk about the unsettled times we are in right now, politically. But it also is an unsettling time for kids because summer is almost over. And you know what that means.

These recordings are almost completely improvised. I usually start with something that’s on my mind, and go from there. Please let me know what you think.

Hope you are having a good Tuesday. Thanks for being here.

Subscribe to my Youtube Channel to get notified when I am live, as I was in the above video.

Seeing Things is a reader-supported publication. To receive new posts and support my work, consider becoming a free or paid subscriber.

Discussion about this podcast

Seeing Things
Seeing Things
New and unpublished drawings and thoughts for people who want to see more of life, from a New Yorker cartoonist. Drawings, cartoons, words, live drawing, process, more...